Life’s not a paragraph

“life’s not a paragraph and death i think is no parenthesis”         ~ e.e. cummings

Two days until I move in as a freshman at Towson University (it is located about 15 minutes north of Baltimore for anyone unfamiliar with the school). It will be the first time I am living in another state or even another city. I have grown up in the same area my whole life and always 10 minutes away from any of my friends. I will also be living on my own and away from my parents for the first time as I’m sure is the case for most. This whole experience couldn’t come at a more opportune time; while I will miss all of my friends at home, I need to break away from my town for a little while.

They say there comes a time in your life when you realize the people who were never really there, the people who were just along for the ride, and those who were always there and always will be. This summer, the summer right before college, has showed me that. I found my true friends and the ones that when I tell them we’ll keep in touch, I can actually mean it. I lost one of my best friends this summer and it was the hardest thing I’ve ever had to go through. I still haven’t come to terms with the fact that her friendship may actually be gone. I don’t think that’s something either of us really want, but for now it’s too hard for either of us to be anything else. We both need to separate from each other for awhile and experience what life has to offer. Maybe in the future we’ll come back to each other and our friendship will be as strong as it was before but until then I’m going to live my life to the fullest. I have an opportunity ahead of me where I can be whoever and whatever I want. There aren’t many chances in life for that.

I love to read and get lost in a good book. Before I met this friend, I would live my life vicariously through the many adventures of the characters in my favorite books. It’s sad to say but I didn’t have much of a social life. She taught me how to live my life; she taught me that life isn’t meant to be lived through books. You have to get out there and have your own experiences. Through her, I learned that life isn’t a paragraph.

About lifeisntaparagraph

I am a freshman at Towson University. I am a math major. I love to dance, read, and travel. I have two sisters, a dog, and two cats.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

