Goodbye Pennsylvania, Hello Maryland

“I don’t know where I am going, but I am on my way” ~ Voltaire

So I am leaving for Towson in just under 11 hours. I feel so many emotions right now. I am excited and scared and nervous and worried. The whole experience is just exhilarating.

I don’t know all that much about where I am about to call home. It’s so weird because the last time I remember moving, I just moved across the street. Now I’m moving to another state.

I’ve just finished packing and you would think after taking so much time packing everything up that you would want it to stay packed. But it’s actually quite the contrary in this situation. I am so ready to unpack everything again and start organizing my new room and actually my new home. It’s crazy that I’m soon going to be living in one room; the area I sleep in will be all that there is.

I really don’t know what to expect when I get there or even what I want to get from my experience there. I just know that I am on my way to a new experience and that is all I can ask for. I need to put my all into this experience because I no longer have my parents guiding me every step of the way and giving me advice 24/7 on the best way to handle a situation. I need to use what I have learned growing up to make the wisest decisions and if they aren’t always the wisest decisions, because they can’t always be, then I will learn. I have sat through a lot of my parents lectures this summer about putting myself out there and saving money and all of the other things people tell you when you go out on your own. While I hated listening week after week to all of this, I’m actually really glad that they did. They really hammered it into my brain and I know now when I go to the mall and see a cute dress I like, I will look at the price tag and then look at the dress again and ask myself: Do I really need to spend the money on this? 9 times out of 10 the answer will be “no” that 1 time out of 10 will be me treating myself. Of course given that I have a job at the time.

But going to Towson, I do expect to embrace all of my passions and continue with them, but I also hope to find new ones. I want to embrace every situation I’m given. I’m not normally an optimistic or positive person, but I am learning to be. I am learning that you just need to keep going even if you don’t know where that is. You can’t stop just because something got in your way. Everyone has obstacles, some people’s are bigger than others, but we all just have to keep going and keep pushing and one day we will be where we were meant to be.

About lifeisntaparagraph

I am a freshman at Towson University. I am a math major. I love to dance, read, and travel. I have two sisters, a dog, and two cats.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goodbye Pennsylvania, Hello Maryland

  1. devinah22 says:

    SOOO GOODD!!! i can’t believe I’m cryin but i am! I’m so proud of u and all the things you’ve accomplished! times are tough but i know better things are coming ur way! you’re gonna do awesome!!! I’m gonna check ur blogs daily 🙂

Leave a Reply

