Measure for Measure

“The fool doth think he is wise, but the wise man doth know himself to be a fool.” ~ William Shakespeare

Today was my first day of classes as a college fresh man. (So exciting!!) I had English and Computer Science today. The two classes I was looking forward to the least. But now I’m actually pretty excited. My English professor is young so it seems like he will be able to engage with us as a class and put himself at our level and not above us which I was a little nervous about. His syllabus scared me but in person he seemed a lot more relaxed. I love to read and discuss and occasionally write about it so now I’m excited for this class. I’m still not excited about computer science but I’m not as worried. It doesn’t seem like it will be too hard and I think it will be good for me to learn about computer programming a bit since I am a math major most likely going into systems security. My work load also isn’t too bad so far. MUCH lighter than high school!

I’m just very excited because I think I will get so much out of my classes. Everyone says classes in college aren’t like your classes in high school. That scared me. But it really isn’t something to be afraid of. The professors want to engage in higher level conversations with you. Every professor is there to help you, wants to help you, they encourage you to go to them for anything. They don’t look down to you quite as much as high school teachers. They know you are an adult now and on your own. They appreciate your opinion and don’t make you confine to any specific style of writing or learning. Although my English professor said we don’t have our creative license yet. Maybe at the end of the semester. I want my license! I hate writing to certain standards. But I’ve been doing it this long, I should be able to deal.

Things are starting to calm down here, not much but a little. It’s nice because it was all overwhelming and I don’t do too good with that. I don’t like to be surrounded by people all the time. That’s how things are here and I need time to myself. My plan is to just take things measure for measure here. I plan to balance everything. School work, family, friends here, friends at home, and me time. I have to make sure I don’t loose myself on this journey instead of finding myself.

About lifeisntaparagraph

I am a freshman at Towson University. I am a math major. I love to dance, read, and travel. I have two sisters, a dog, and two cats.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

