Hidden Language of the Soul

“It was not the thorn bending to the honeysuckles, but the honeysuckles embracing the thorn.” ~ Emily Brontë

I have finished my first “week” at college. Let me just say it has been quite eventful and interesting. I never would have thought I would adapt so well. I thought I would either not want to go out and do things because I would be so homesick or I would be so wrapped up in school activities that I wouldn’t have time for myself and home and I would lose myself. But it seems that I have been able to find a happy medium.

I have never been one to socialize extensively and that kinda made me nervous about college because I am living with my friends and even in my room I don’t really get a break. But quite honestly, there isn’t much to do in your room so I typically only go to my room in between some of my classes if I have a long break or at night. I tend to spend my afternoons/evenings with some friends and that is plenty for me. It is more than back at home. It’s also nice that my roommate likes to go out a lot at nights because that gives me some time to myself. Although I’m not sure how she does it because she has early classes and I go to bed at midnight and she still isn’t back.

My classes were definitely not what I was expecting. I was expecting to be thoroughly lost. English isn’t my strong subject but it doesn’t seem all that much different from high school and Computer Science might be a little difficult for me but I think I’ll be able to handle it. My calculus professor sounds like the character Gru from Despicable Me so that just makes the class so much better and on top of that when he was going over course topics I kept asking myself when all of the calc II topics I didn’t already learned were going to be discussed. I feel like this course is an extension of calc I and an introduction to calc II. Hey, I’m not complaining about that because that makes it all the more easier for me. I was expecting my dance class to be a lecture class where we learn about the body and music and choreography from a book. Turns out we are actually dancing and choreographing dances. It was a pleasant surprise but I am a little nervous about how things are going to be graded and how points are going to be worked. I’ve never been graded before on my dancing and creativity. But I definitely think that this class will help me to grow as a dancer and choreographer. It will help me to understand my body and feel more comfortable with myself and it will also help me to understand and feel the music I am choreographing to.

This first week away from home has taught me a lot. I have learned how to manage things on my own. Being responsible for my own meals and getting myself to classes and other places I need to go, how to get by without a car. But most importantly, how to deal with being away from everything I know, how to start over. It has allowed me time to really think about my relationships with people and find out what it is I want in those relationships. I have found a lot of that from just thinking and also with meeting new people because you see similar things in them that your friends back home have and you can see what exactly it is that you like about that person. I found that the people back home who were important in my life and proved themselves to be and those who showed me that I was important to them will continue to play the dominant role in my life. I have built those friendships for years, I don’t think they can be replaced in four years nor do I want them to. Sure I might make lasting friendships in college but those friendships will stand side-by-side with my friendships back home.

I intend to make the most of my experiences from here on out. No matter what life gives me, I will always embrace and not succumb to. I won’t let my surrounding situations bring me down. They may shape who I am, but they won’t define me, I define myself.

About lifeisntaparagraph

I am a freshman at Towson University. I am a math major. I love to dance, read, and travel. I have two sisters, a dog, and two cats.
This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

